Absences from school

Featured

Dear Parents,

Please remember to explain any child absence from school by emailing your child’s class teacher, including reason for absence and days absent.
Here is a list of class teacher email addresses:

Ms Leonard (Junior Infants) – msleonard@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms Flahive (Junior Infants) – msflahive@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms O’Dowd (Senior Infants) – msodowd@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms Hanlon (1st Class) – mshanlon@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms Fitzpatrick (2nd/3rd Class) – msfitzpatrick@stgabrielsns.ie
Mr Smyth (3rd/4th Class) – mrsmyth@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms Sweetman (5th/6th Class) – mssweetman@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms Delaney (Sunshine room) – msdelaneystgabrielsns@gmail.com

In the case of illness, please complete the yellow return to school form; we have sent copies home, but you may also download it here.

Please find the symptoms of COVID 19 here, and also a handy quick isolation guide can be downloaded here.

Roald Dahl Day in 2nd and 3rd Class

Roald Dahl Day is on Monday 13th September. This week, 2nd and 3rd Class have been busy learning about Roald Dahl, his life and his incredible books. We started reading the story Esio Trot as a class group. We also learned some interesting facts about Roald Dahl. Here are some facts we would like to share with you!

Roald Dahl was born in Wales. His parents were from Norway.
He was a pilot in the army and fought in World War 2.
Roald Dahl loved the smell of bacon frying. His favourite foods were caviar and chocolate. He didn’t like to eat chocolate ice-cream or chocolate cake.
Roald Dahl only wrote on yellow paper. He spent two hours a day writing. He never learned how to type and always wrote in pencil.
His favourite book he wrote was The BFG.

2nd and 3rd Class used The BFG as inspiration for their artwork this week. We created our own magical dreams in a jar. We also practiced drawing some Oompa Loompas, demonstrated by illustrator Quentin Blake. We are having lots of fun learning about Roald Dahl and are really looking forward to celebrating Roald Dahl Day on Monday!