Absences from school

Featured

Dear Parents,

Please remember to explain any child absence from school by emailing your child’s class teacher, including reason for absence and days absent.
Here is a list of class teacher email addresses:

Ms Leonard (Junior Infants) – msleonard@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms Flahive (Junior Infants) – msflahive@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms O’Dowd (Senior Infants) – msodowd@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms Hanlon (1st Class) – mshanlon@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms Fitzpatrick (2nd/3rd Class) – msfitzpatrick@stgabrielsns.ie
Mr Smyth (3rd/4th Class) – mrsmyth@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms Sweetman (5th/6th Class) – mssweetman@stgabrielsns.ie
Ms Delaney (Sunshine room) – msdelaneystgabrielsns@gmail.com

In the case of illness, please complete the yellow return to school form; we have sent copies home, but you may also download it here.

Please find the symptoms of COVID 19 here, and also a handy quick isolation guide can be downloaded here.

Good Friends Week 2021

6th – 10th September 2021

Each September we like to begin our school year by celebrating Good Friends Week. Pupils discuss with their classmates and teachers the characteristics that make a good friend. Each year we choose one characteristic/theme on which to focus our learning and this year our theme is to ‘Be Considerate’.

Pupils will explore how we can all be more considerate people in the classroom, on the playground and outside of school. We will try to be considerate of the feelings of others. We will consider how our words and actions can have an impact on the happiness of others. This September we welcome lots of new pupils to many of our classes throughout the school. We will consider what it is like to move to a new school and we will try to make it easier for everybody to settle into school life.

The pupils of St. Gabriel’s N.S. have already displayed wonderful consideration for the health and safety of others by respecting and willingly following the rules and routines of our school including the new procedures that have been introduced since the pandemic began. Well done!

As part of Good Friends Week each class will draw up a class charter with guidelines that they feel are important to help each classroom to be happy, safe, and productive places to be this year.

We look forward to putting into practise all we learn this week about being considerate throughout the year ahead and beyond.